Click here to save the world

October is Slacktivism Awareness Month

First, let me just throw this out there: “slacktivism” is a fun word to say, and it totally belongs in the dictionary.

Now that that’s out of the way . . .

Earlier today, I took part in a Facebook exchange where my friend Kate had posted this article about the commercialization and exploitative nature of the breast cancer awareness movement.  One of my favorite points in the article was how companies have used carcinogenic materials when making their trinkets that they use to show support or spread the word.

It turns out that October is more than just Breast Cancer Awareness Month; it is also Bullying Prevention Awareness Month, Pregnancy Loss and Infant Loss Awareness Month, Rett Syndrome Awareness Month, Domestic Violence Awareness Month, National Cyber Security Awareness Month, Dwarfism Awareness Month, and National Squirrel Awareness Month.  It’s also LGBT History Month, Filipino American History Month, and in the UK it’s Black History Month.  Oh, and did I mention, Clergy Appreciation Month, Auto Battery Safety Month, Fair Trade Month, National Arts and Humanities Month?

I propose a new month-long event for October: Slacktivism Awareness Month.

Click here to save the world

Slacktivism is when you re-post, share, or forward something for a cause, especially if it’s a cause you haven’t researched that may or may not be worth supporting.  The Kony 2012 video from earlier this year was a good example, and every October when the breast cancer awareness campaigns start some silly game by private messages (Don’t tell your husbands/boyfriends; we’ll make them guess why you’re posting a color) is another good example.

Sometimes these awareness campaigns may actually result in a donation or a contribution, so I can’t say they’re all bad.  I’m not even really saying that they’re bad, because people can’t solve problems that they’re not aware of.  But the attitude of supporting a cause that is emotionally pitched without looking into it, or . . . for example . . . trying to spread the awareness of cancer with carcinogenic products–well, who in their right mind would appreciate that?

If you’re going to support a cause on the internet, then make sure it’s worthwhile before you go around retweeting or forwarding things.  If you’re going to play a silly game where you talk about the color of your bra or where you like to leave your purse, make sure you put a link to where someone can donate.  Make the slacktivism pay off.

That’s all I’ve got. Leave a comment and let me know how much you hate slacktivism, or let me know what worthy slacker campaigns you’ve been pulled into.  (I’ll admit I’ve been taken in by a few.)

12 thoughts on “October is Slacktivism Awareness Month

  1. That’s so funny because today I posted this as my status: Please copy and paste this to your status if you’re constantly being asked to copy and paste things to your status by friends who copy and paste things to their status. Many people won’t copy and paste this, but my truly sarcastic friends will copy and paste it, because they know this was copied and pasted from a dear friend in need of more stuff to copy and paste. And if you don’t copy and paste it, then this means you hate kittens and puppies and Bacon. And if you hate Bacon, the terrorists win.

    Just because it seems that everyone thinks it really matters what you re-post. I get so sick of “like this if you know God loves you” or “share this if you care about these kids with cancer”… what good did it actually do if I posted it?? Annoying!!

  2. Oh c’mon now. You didn’t mention the most important event of the month: my birthday! I even have a cousin with a birthday in October, a nephew whose wife is an Octoberite, and know of many others. But, they do not count. I do expect that all slacktivists will do their thing and spread the word and post and repost and re-repost and donations are welcome.

    I do like your definition: “Slacktivism is when you re-post, share, or forward something for a cause, especially if it’s a cause you haven’t researched that may or may not be worth supporting.”

    So, donate, donate, donate ye slacktivists!

  3. Hi Tony,

    I love your idea! I’m all for slacktivism awareness month, provided it doesn’t become ironic. Hehe.

    I like your points that thoughtlessness seems to be behind the slacktivism. Or at least, I think, critical thinking. I agree that some benefit has probably come from some individuals’ campaigns. I am a vocal critic of slacktivism and fake awareness and that is the rebuttal I keep receiving.

    But what I’d like to know: does that really count as proof? How can we claim something has raised REAL awareness and prove the outcome of that, unless we measure more than pink products sold and moustaches grown? Donations can be good, but that doesn’t compensate for fake awareness. And anyway, where does the money go?

    -Ashley

    1. Is Movember about raising some kind of awareness? I seriously thought it was just an excuse for people to grow molestaches.

      I’m with you, though. Research your causes, people. Don’t give the homeless guy vodka money; support the soup kitchen instead.

Leave a Reply

