Volleyball dive

Things I Like: Women’s Beach Volleyball

This should come as no surprise to those of you who know me: My favorite spectator sport is women’s beach volleyball.

Misty May Treanor & Kerri Walsh
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh, 2008 gold medalists

The first time I ever saw the sport, I was channel surfing.  Normally, I quickly click past sporting events and look for something else, but when I saw so much sweaty lady skin, I stopped.  I was mesmerized by the bikini-clad athletic women jumping, diving for the ball, and hugging each other whenever they made a good play.  I was hooked.

Volleyball dive
Can you do that? I can’t do that!

I have always enjoyed watching women play volleyball–even indoors.  Although it’s fun to play co-ed, I usually think of it as a women’s sport.  Adding sand and bikinis to the mix only makes it better.

Volleyball players hugging
Who doesn’t love to watch sweaty women hugging?

Naturally, the sport draws a lot of criticism for being exploitative.  Perhaps it is.  Personally, I would rather that my daughters have these healthy athletes as role models instead of starved supermodels.  Although the obvious thrill of the sport is seeing beautiful women barely dressed, it is also great to watch them perform feats of athleticism that are well beyond the capability of the average untrained human being.

Volleyball Butt
Let’s be honest; this is really why I watch.

For good or ill, I am looking forward to this event in the London Olympics.  Who’s with me? Does anyone else dig some women’s beach volleyball?  What’s your favorite Olympic event?

7 thoughts on “Things I Like: Women’s Beach Volleyball

    1. Makes sense! What’s up with men’s beach volleyball uniforms? They wear T-shirts! That makes no sense at all! Of course, women’s swimming isn’t quite as appealing because they wear one-piece bathing suits, so I guess it’s a fair trade off.

      1. I don’t know if it’s because London is cold or because they requested that the ladies cover up more, but I noticed there’s a lot less skin this year. Still, at least our girls are still good at volleyball. 🙂

    1. I was fortunate to have a hotel cable package when I was watching the Olympics this year. However, I was disappointed that they only showed the women’s beach volleyball games where the American teams played. I would have liked to see Brazil vs. China and some of the others. When I watched, it was mostly gymnastics and diving.

Leave a Reply

