The Liebster Blog Award

Metablog: Are we there yet?

It’s that time again–time for the monthly metablog from YFT!  A lot has happened since my last metablog: novel writing, guest posting, recognition, and some difficulties in my personal life.  Some of this may affect my blogging habits in the near future, so look forward to some new and interesting posts. Novel Writing Last month, I wrote 40,000 words of fiction after having not written any fiction in about five years.  I didn’t reach my goal of 50,000, but I’m not discouraged.  Creating worlds from my own head and spilling words into a manuscript is something I didn’t realize how much I had missed until I started doing it again.  Camp NaNoWriMo is having another session in August, and I’ve decided to give it another go. Guest Posting A while back, I posted a comment on one of my favorite book blogs, The Insatiable Booksluts, that generated some interest in my own story.  Susie originally wanted to do an interview, but we had a difficult time coordinating it since I live on the other side of the world in a ridiculous time zone.  Finally, she just had me write a guest post instead.  It was pretty awesome getting a chance to write for them, and I hope I can do it again. RecognitionThe Liebster Blog Award One of the Booksluts’ followers, TheBrontëSister linked to my blog and loved it, and as a result, she awarded me the Liebster Blog award.  The award is similar to the Versatile Blogger award I got a few months back, where those recognized are supposed to pass on the love to blogs with 200 or fewer followers.  Since most of the blogs I want to recommend don’t meet the criteria, I’m just going to spread a little love and those who want the award are free to claim it:

  • butimbeautiful – I found this blog a while back when my friend Rory gave her blog a VBA.  Her posts are funny, irreverent, and make you think.  Plus, the discussion is always good.
  • Book Snobbery – This blog is also a recent discovery for me.  I’ve been drawn in mostly by the recent Middle Earth series, Puttin’ the Blog in Balrog, and I plan to participate in the livetweet/drinkalong.
  • The Jane Doe Novel Experiment – While I was doing Camp NaNoWriMo, I was on Twitter and noticed that #badwritingtips was trending, and I had to jump in on that action.  So did @AuthorJaneDoe.  We followed each other, and then we followed each others’ blogs.  It’s fitting that she writes about writing.
  • Worldly Rise – One of my friends from college teaches her children about the food, music, and culture of various nations around the world, and then writes about it.  It makes for an interesting read–not to mention, the food photos look delicious.

I recommend that my readers check these blogs out.  Also, don’t forget to take a look at some of my other favorite blogs that I still read regularly. Personal Life I’ve been facing some personal difficulties lately that my have to remain vague for the time being, as this is neither the time nor the place to reveal them.  Rest assured, my challenges will certainly translate to excellent writing material both for this blog and for my fiction.  I’ve had a few people comment on my reduced number of posts.  Unfortunately, in my off time, uncovering insidious plots, slaying dragons, and rescuing damsels is keeping me quite busy.  Hopefully it won’t be this way for long. What’s to come? Despite the lessened frequency of my posts, I still have plenty of blog posts in my head, only waiting to be written.  Since I started writing fiction again, I have considered posting some short fiction or some excerpts of work in progress, so you may see that soon.  Also, my lessons learned and writing rehab posts were pretty popular, and fiction writing has been on my mind lately, so a new series may rise from that.  Finally, be on the lookout for Things I Don’t Like: Dishonesty. So that’s what’s up with Your Friend Tony.  As always thanks for reading, and feel free to leave a comment!

3 thoughts on “Metablog: Are we there yet?

  1. 40,000 words in a month when you haven’t written fiction in years is nothing to sneeze at. Great job!

    I hope everything smooths out for you soon, and thank you for the nod! We’re actually still under 200 blog followers, so we meet the criteria. 😉

Leave a Reply

