Metablog and Survey: Favorite YFT post?

It’s been a good go since the last metablog.  I wrote about blogs, vlogs, and Shenanigans, I regaled you with military memories, I gave advice on giving advice, and I wrote about how to date my fellow geeks.  The latter of these may be my favorite post I’ve ever written.  Which brings up a good question:  What is your favorite post from Your Friend Tony?  But enough of that for now . . . we’ll come back to that later.

There’s not a lot changing at Your Friend Tony this month.  I’ll be engaged in rigorous academic study for the coming week, so there will likely be few if any posts during that time.  However, once things slow down, I plan to come back with plenty more off-the-wall thoughts, theories, and drinking stories.

In other news, yesterday my former troop messaged me on Facebook and gave me a link to Camp NaNoWriMo where the people who organize National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and Script Frenzy have sponsored an online summer writing retreat.  She had signed up to do the program in June and wondered if I cared to join her.  I did.

For NaNoWriMo events, writers try to crank out 1667 words a day for thirty days to meet their end goal of 50,000 words.  I’ve tried the novel writing month before, but without much success.  I’m not sure what blogging does for my monthly word count, but since I’ve gotten back into the habit of writing regularly, and I am starting to form a good outline for a story, maybe this time I will actually meet my word count goals and whip up something good.  (The great American novel?  Yeah, right.)  If any of you readers are writers who are interested in joining, follow the Camp NaNoWriMo link and make an account.  It’s completely free, but the site accepts donations to keep the program going.

As for what’s coming up on this blog, I’m still planning to give you more of the same.  I’ve considered writing a few posts about career advice, but I’m not sure that I would want to commit to a regular series for it.  I still have a bunch of drafts that have at least a title or a topic I plan to write about, and a few are partially finished, but I ran out of time and didn’t feel like finishing them when I came back.  Some might say I need to work on following through, but I would say they can kiss my ass.

So that’s what I have planned for the next month or so.  As long as you keep reading this stuff, I’ll keep writing it!  And finally, let’s come back to my question from earlier: if you’ve been following this blog for a while, what has been your favorite post so far?  Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Metablog and Survey: Favorite YFT post?

Leave a Reply

