2 Comments

Spreading the Love for Blogs

I got a comment from a reader a few days ago to let me know that she nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award.  I felt honored, but I had never heard of the award before, so I looked it up on Google to figure out what it meant to be nominated, when I could find out the results, etc.  I found a link to the Versatile Blogger Award blog on WordPress.  On the page, I found several rules to indicate how I should respond to being nominated:

  1. Thank the person who nominated me.  Thanks, Miss Z!  I love your blog, too!  Done.
  2. Provide a link to that person’s blog.  All of my readers, check out Blame it on Disney.  Done.
  3. Select 15 bloggers that I’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.  (Scratching record sound effect goes here.)  I only follow 19 blogs.  Several of them are just friends who don’t post regularly or something I followed based on one post, and only a few of them have truly good content.
  4. Nominate those bloggers for a Versatile Blogger Award.  I couldn’t in good conscience pick 15 blogs out of the 19 I follow; it would be like reverse recognition, because I’d have to figure out which four blogs suck the most so I could nominate the rest.
  5. Tell the person who nominated me seven things about myself.  But she follows this blog where I tell a lot of personal anecdotes, express opinions, discuss my family life–not to mention, I comment on her blog all the time–so she already knows way more than seven things about me.

The rules sounded all fine and good until I got to the third one . . . and each one that followed.  What should I do?

I’m going to stick with my principles on this one and stop the chain of VBAs at my blog.  Instead, I’m going to give some blog love to a few of the people I read regularly.

Here are some of my favorite bloggers (in no particular order) who write on WordPress:

  • Miss Z writes a really great blog called Blame it on Disney in which she tells episodic tales of her dating life since she moved to London.  I have a special place in my heart for Miss Z because she was my very first WordPress follower, and I was so excited about her following me that I followed her back.  I’m glad I did, because she writes a wonderful blog.  If you get a chance, check it out.
  • Analyfe is Erin McNaughton’s insightful and well written blog, filled with thoughtful anecdotes, book reviews, and quotes.  She also posts some beautiful photography.
  • If you’re seeking informative content, take a look at Moment Matters.  The topics are sometimes odd and off-the-wall, but always interesting.  I’ve read about everything from the significance of birth order to just how much one should spend on handbags.
  • Not only is this a great blog, but the writer is one of my favorite commenters on this blog.  Check out Tiffany’s blog Life with Blondie for a great mommy blog about her large and lively household (menagerie included).
  • Another one of my favorite blogs is notchangingmyname.  This one is also a dating blog, similar to Miss Z’s, in which a young woman shares her adventures and misadventures in dating, self improvement, and New York City night life.
  • Facehookin’ is one of the funniest blogs I read.  Sheena, the girl who writes it, is hilarious, and she has a way of telling stories from her everyday life in a way that has me in cackling fits of laughter every time I read it.

So there you have it–no need for fancy awards or anything.  I just think these people’s blogs are great, and I wanted to say so.

What are some of the blogs you like?  Leave me a comment and let me know.  Also, don’t forget to stop by and check out the blogs I listed above.  And tell them your friend Tony says hi!

2 comments on “Spreading the Love for Blogs

  1. . . . And . . . why not? Here are seven more things about me, as per rule number five: 1. My wife and I got engaged on THE September 11th. 2. Two of my kids were born in the same hospital as me. 3. I had a chance to punch a moose once, but I chickened out (it would have killed me). 4. I used to have a car named the Jolly Roger. 5. I wrecked the car I owned prior to the Jolly Roger about three weeks after I got my driver’s license. 6. I like great tits, boobies, and other birds whose names sound dirty. 7. I have flown on an F-15 fighter jet.

  2. [...] today, I saw that my friend Tony nominated me as a Versatile Blogger, and I realized, I’m never gonna get all this stuff on my list accomplished, so instead, I [...]

Leave a Reply

